Celebrating exceptional athletic achievements in the sport of triathlon, Competitor Magazine hosted the 17th Annual Competitor Endurance Sports Awards at Sea World. Chrissie Wellington earned the prestigious Female Triathlete of the Year at the sports award show. She is recognized for her undefeated season, winning all six races and defending her Kona Ironman World Championship title.

Later in the evening, the Short Distance Non-Drafting Triathlete of the Year was awarded to Becky Lavelle. She garnered wins at the Chicago Triathlon, Los Angeles Triathlon and Malibu Triathlon while competing in 13 races throughout the 2008 season. Lavelle earned the overall Life Time Fitness Triathlon Series title and her consistency in the short course races places her as one of the fastest females in the sport today.